Diana’s Holiday Bake-A-Long Week 4: Ranger Cookies

“My two favorite things: crunchy and chewy and buttery, all in one.” – Truvy Jones, Steel Magnolias

She’s not the prettiest girl at the ball, but she’s got lots of sugar and butter and she’ll be the one you remember.

I have no idea where these cookies came from. I think they were a home ec recipe. I don’t know why they’re called ranger cookies, but I do know they’re super easy and super delicious, even if they’re not the prettiest cookie in the world. Makes a dozen and a half or so.

Ranger Cookies
Ingredients:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup oats (I used Quaker 1-minute quick oats)
1 cup Rice Krispies
1/2 cup flaked coconut (the recipe didn’t actually specify but I used sweetened coconut)

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
2. Cream butter and sugars together until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla, blend until smooth.
3. In a separate bowl, combine remaining ingredients.
4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, mixing until only just combined.
5. Drop by spoonfuls onto a prepared cookie sheet and bake for 10 min.
6. After baking, let rest for 5 minutes before eating.

Published by

Diana Chabai-Booker

Hi! I’m Diana Chabai-Booker and I’m a 25-year-old graphic designer, yarn nerd, and stage manager living in Grand Forks, ND. This used to be a theatre blog, now it’s a general blog. Do you like rambling essays? This is the place for you.

Leave a comment